Janice’s Review Blog

Beauty captured in Paradise

Posted on: March 7, 2010

Le Templar, Puma Press blog adviser, constantly tells me I’m up way too early when I post sunrise photos on Twitter.  My answer, “I can sleep when I  die.  Look at all of the beauty I’d miss if I slept instead of going out walking and shooting photos.” 

I’ve got quite a collection of Phoenix sunrises and sunsets.  Brett Chappell, a Twitter pal and former U.S. Navy SEAL, says we live in Paradise, and I agree.  

This cascading sunrise appeared over Shadow Mountain on Dec. 9, 2009. 

On Dec. 9, 2009, these coral, cascading clouds surprised and delighted local sunrise spectators.

On Dec. 9, 2009, these coral, cascading clouds surprised and delighted local sunrise spectators.

  

 Christmas morning 2009, Santa not only left packages for all of the good little girls and boys, but he kissed the mountains of Phoenix with a gorgeous pink and blue sunrise to please everyone. 

Santa left behind a beautiful sunrise on Christmas morning 2009.

Santa left behind a beautiful sunrise on Christmas morning 2009.

At the last night of the Desert Botanical Garden’s 2009 Las Noches de las Luminarias, I captured the beginnings of a glorious sunset from the Desert Wildflower Loop Trail. 

The beginnings of sunset seen from the Desert Wildlife Loop Trail.

The beginnings of sunset seen from the Desert Wildlife Loop Trail.

The final embers of the blazing sunset at the 2009 Las Noches de las Lunminarias glow as seen from the Desert Discovery Loop Trail. 

A blazing sunset burns at the last night of Las Noches de las Luminarias.

A blazing sunset burns at the last night of Las Noches de las Luminarias.

A golden sunrise rang in the 2010 New Year. 

New Year's Day 2010 dawned with a golden sunrise.

New Year's Day 2010 dawned with a golden sunrise.

The Valley experienced a lot of rain this winter.  I captured this angry sunset on Feb. 3, 2010 just before the rains came. 

An angry sunset appears prior to a rain storm.

An angry sunset appears prior to a rain storm.

On Feb. 27, 2010, before heading out to pick grapefruit with Tim Vetscher and other volunteers for St. Mary’s Food Bank, I captured this pastel sunrise on my morning walk. 

A pastel sunrise appeared in my neighborhood on Feb. 27, 2010.

A pastel sunrise appeared in my neighborhood on Feb. 27, 2010.

 Finally this morning, March 7, 2010, before the rains set in, God blessed us with a golden sunrise to cheer us and get us through this Sunday in Paradise. 

A golden sunrise brightened an otherwise rainy day.

A golden sunrise brightened an otherwise rainy day.

2 Responses to "Beauty captured in Paradise"

Stunning shots !!!

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

